Republican served 16 years in state Legislature

By Ann McCreary

Cary Condotta

Rep. Cary Condotta (R-Wenatchee) has announced he will not seek re-election in November to the 12th District seat in the state House of Representatives.

Condotta was first elected to office in 2002. In announcing his decision not to seek re-election, Condotta said he plans to stay involved in politics, but did not provide further details about future plans.

“I have put my heart and soul into being a legislator for 16 years, but it takes a tremendous amount of time and commitment. The recent sessions have lasted as long as six months and it is challenging to be gainfully employed while serving as a legislator,” Condotta said.

“There are other new and exciting opportunities crossing my path, in and out of the 12th District I may not want to pass up,” he said.

Ann Diamond

Two candidates have declared for the 12th District seat. They are Ann Diamond, a Winthrop resident who is running as an Independent, and Chris Goehner, a Democrat from East Wenatchee. No Republican candidate had declared as of this week.

The 12th District represents Chelan and Douglas counties, and part of Grant and Okanogan counties including Winthrop, Twisp, Brewster, Bridgeport, Nespelem, Grand Coulee, Chelan, Leavenworth, Cashmere, Wenatchee, East Wenatchee and Rock Island.

Condotta served on the Commerce and Gaming, Appropriations and Finance committees in the Legislature. He cited legislation related to tourism, the capital budget and water rights as accomplishments during the past legislative season.

He said the Republican caucus is strong, despite the retirement of several Republican legislators. Other House Republicans who have recently announced they will not seek re-election include Dan Kristiansen, Larry Haler, Terry Nealey, Liz Pike, Jay Rodne, Melanie Stambaugh, Joyce McDonald and Norm Johnson.