Twisp mayor to serve on AWC board

Twisp Mayor Soo Ing-Moody has been appointed to serve on the board of the Association of Washington Cities (AWC).

Ing-Moody will represent AWC board District 3, which includes 37 cities and towns in Chelan, Douglas, Grant and Okanogan Counties.

“I believe in AWC to represent the interests of all cities and towns throughout Washington state,” said Ing-Moody. “It’s an honor to serve as an AWC director, and to be part of the team that works to ensure the organization continues to thrive, as we hope our cities and towns do.”

The AWC board is comprised of 25 directors, 23 of whom are mayors or city council members from Washington cities or towns, and two non-elected city officials who also serve as the president and past president of the Washington City/County Management Association.

Ing-Moody joined the Twisp council in 2009 before becoming mayor in October 2010. She was re-elected mayor in November 2015.

Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington’s cities and towns before the state Legislature and executive branch, and with regulatory agencies.

Parent/community forum on special education

Parents, families and interested community members are invited to a forum on Thursday (Feb. 18) about the special education services and programs provided by the Methow Valley School District.

The meeting, from 5 to 7 p.m. in the Methow Valley Elementary library, will be the first in a series to launch discussions about how to improve services to students with special needs and their families, according to Leanne Lafferty, the district’s assistant special education director.

The district hopes this first forum will result in the formation of a parent group that will continue to meet to identify specific needs and ways to address them.

The meeting will be run by a facilitator. Light refreshments will be available. For more information, call 996-2186.

New meeting time for Twisp council

The Twisp Town Council has changed its regular meeting time from 5 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. The council meets in Twisp Town Hall at 118 Glover St.