Final returns from the Aug. 5 primary election show Methow Valley resident Dave Rodriguez, chief criminal deputy for the Okanogan County Sheriff’s Office, with a substantial lead in the race for county coroner going into the November general election.

Tallies from the county auditor’s office show Rodriguez with 3,758 votes (62 percent) in one of the few contested races affecting Okanogan County. Gary V. Reams finished second with 1,264 votes (21 percent) and Anthony Frey drew 1,051 votes (17 percent). Rodriguez and Reams will be on the November ballot.

In the only other contested race, for county assessor, incumbent Scott Furman drew 4,054 votes (60 percent) to 2,680 votes (40 percent) for Les V. Stokes. Both will be on the November ballot.

Running unopposed are County Auditor Laurie Thomas, Clerk Charleen Groomes, District 3 County Commissioner Jim DeTro, Prosecuting Attorney Karl Sloan, Sheriff Frank Rogers and Treasurer Leah Mc Cormack. In the 12th Legislative District, representatives Brad Hawkins and Cary Condotta are running unopposed. Both represent the Methow Valley.

There were 12 candidates for the Fourth Congressional District post now held by Doc Hastings, who is retiring. The apparent top two vote-getters — former state agriculture director Dan Newhouse and Clint Didier, both Republicans — will face off in November.
In a very tight race to fill the District 1 seat on the Okanogan County Public Utility District board of commissioners, incumbent David Womack (562 votes) and Scott Vejraska (535 votes) will advance to the general election. James Miller drew 443 votes and Steve Nearants 440 votes in the four-person race.