In the first returns from Tuesday’s primary election, Methow Valley resident Dave Rodriguez, chief criminal deputy for the Okanogan County Sheriff’s Office, drew 2,074 votes (59 percent) in the race for county coroner and will advance to the November general election.

In one of the few contested races affecting Okanogan County, Rodriguez is polling well ahead of Gary V. Reams with 813 votes (23 percent) and Anthony Frey with 601 votes (17 percent) as of Tuesday’s vote tallies. The top two will be on the November ballot.

In the only other contested race, for county assessor, incumbent Scott Furman drew 2,252 votes (59 percent) to 1,551 votes (41 percent) for Les V. Stokes. Both will be on the November ballot.

Running unopposed are County Auditor Laurie Thomas, Clerk Charleen Groomes, District 3 County Commissioner Jim DeTro, Prosecuting Attorney Karl Sloan, Sheriff Frank Rogers and Treasurer Leah McCormack.

In the 12th Legislative District, representatives Brad Hawkins and Cary Condotta are running unopposed. Both represent the Methow Valley.

There were 12 candidates for the Fourth Congressional District post now held by Doc Hastings, who is retiring. The apparent top two vote-getters – former state agriculture director Dan Newhouse and Clint Didier, both Republicans – will face off in November.

About 1,400 ballots remain to be counted in Okanogan County. The next batch of results will be released Friday (Aug. 8).