Pictured are 27 of 33 boys who turned out for Liberty Bell High School basketball this season. Back row, from left: Liam Daily, Wes Pilkinton, Morgan Stolp-Ott, Josh Frey, Carter Dornfeld, Jesse Schulz, Willy Duguay, Connor Cooley, Chase VanderYacht and Tyler Bergevin-Krumme. Middle row: Garrett Dornfeld, Austin Watson, Zane Herrera, Dae Hyo Ko, Jaymis Hanson, Ben Klemmeck, Bryce Tillman, Daniel; Sonnichsen and David James (DJ) Haley. Front row: Evan Wagstaff, Martin Larsen, Jose Dominguez, Jorge Lara, Brendan Saling, Trevor Ritchey, Micah Klemmeck and Andrew Reggiatore. Not pictured: Cesar Dominguez, Logan Szafas, Isaac Cordes, Corydon Goodman, Jayden Hanson and Leif Portman-Bown. Photo by Hunter Maltais

Pictured are 27 of 33 boys who turned out for Liberty Bell High School basketball this season. Back row, from left: Liam Daily, Wes Pilkinton, Morgan Stolp-Ott, Josh Frey, Carter Dornfeld, Jesse Schulz, Willy Duguay, Connor Cooley, Chase VanderYacht and Tyler Bergevin-Krumme. Middle row: Garrett Dornfeld, Austin Watson, Zane Herrera, Dae Hyo Ko, Jaymis Hanson, Ben Klemmeck, Bryce Tillman, Daniel; Sonnichsen and David James (DJ) Haley. Front row: Evan Wagstaff, Martin Larsen, Jose Dominguez, Jorge Lara, Brendan Saling, Trevor Ritchey, Micah Klemmeck and Andrew Reggiatore. Not pictured: Cesar Dominguez, Logan Szafas, Isaac Cordes, Corydon Goodman, Jayden Hanson and Leif Portman-Bown. Photo by Hunter Maltais

By Mike Maltais

Returning veterans, including seven seniors and three juniors, have made the cut for this season’s Liberty Bell High School varsity boys’ basketball roster.

Coach Kyle Accord had an abundance of players to consider from over 30 prospects who showed up on the practice court last month.

Seniors Liam Daily, Cesar Dominguez, Jaymis Hanson, Morgan Ott, Daniel Sonnichsen, Logan Szafas and Austin Watson will be back in the varsity lineup. Junior veterans Garrett Dornfeld, Willy Duguay and Jorge Lara round out the roster.

In addition to experience the Mountain Lions will enjoy the benefit of more height this season with five of the 11 players topping out at 6 feet or taller. Daily and Szafas both stand 6 feet, 3 inches, Ott and Duguay are 6-2, and Sonnichsen is 6 feet even.

Acord is returning as varsity coach with Rick McCauley as his assistant. Ryan Surface and Steve Wilson will also be helping out. Mac Surface is team manager.

Liberty Bell will join Bridgeport, Entiat, Lake Roosevelt, Manson, Oroville, Pateros and Waterville in the B league North Division. Columbia Basin, Kittitas, Moses Lake Christian, Riverside Christian, Soap Lake, White Swan and Wilson Creek comprise the B league South.

The Mountain Lions were scheduled to open their season against Tonasket, Oroville and Okanogan at the Okanogan Jamboree on Tuesday (Dec. 3). Liberty Bell will host Tonasket Friday (Dec. 6) at 7:30 p.m. Following Tonasket, the Mountain Lions will be on the road for their next eight games through Jan. 7, 2014.

 

2013-14 varsity boys basketball schedule

Fri Dec. 6: Tonasket @ LBHS, 7:30pm

*Tue Dec. 10: LBHS @ Pateros, 7:30pm

Thu Dec. 12: LBHS @ Omak, 7:30pm

*Tue Dec. 17: LBHS @ Waterville, 7:30pm

*Fri Dec. 20: LBHS @ Entiat, 5pm

Fri Dec. 27: LBHS @ Tonasket Tournament, noon

Sat Dec. 28: LBHS @ Tonasket Xmas tourney,
noon

*Fri Jan. 3: LBHS @ Entiat, 7:30pm

*Tue Jan. 7: LBHS @ Kittitas, TBD

*Sat Jan. 11: Riverside Christian @ LBHS, 5:30pm

*Tue Jan. 14: Bridgeport @ LBHS, 7:30pm

*Fri Jan. 17: LBHS @ Manson, 7:30pm

*Tue Jan. 21: Lake Roosevelt @ LBHS, 7:30pm

*Tue Jan. 28: LBHS @ Oroville, 7:30pm

*Fri Jan. 31: LBHS @ Bridgeport, 7:30pm

*Tue Feb. 4: Manson @ LBHS, 7:30pm

*Fri Feb. 7: LBHS @ Lake Roosevelt, 7:30pm

*Tue Feb. 11: White Swan @ LBHS, 7:30pm

*Fri Feb. 14: Oroville @ LBHS, 7:30pm

*League games