Al Blakeslee, representing Methow Recycles, accepts congratulations, a certificate and gifts at last week’s volunteer appreciation event hosted by the Town of Winthrop. Doing the honors were, left, town council member Rick Northcott and Mayor Dave Acheson. Photo by Don Nelson

The Town of Winthrop honored local citizens, businesses and organizations that made exemplary volunteer efforts in the community during the past year at an event last Wednesday (Nov. 13). Certificates of appreciation were awarded to:

• Individuals Anne Acheson, Tedra Acheson, Owen Almquist, Ardis Bynum, Jill Calvert, Art Campbell, Hazel Culpsmith, Curtis Edwards, Don Elsing, Tim Evans, David Gottula, Mary Gray, John Hayes, Terry Karro, Dick Lindblad, Jay Lucas, Lauri Martin, Audrey Jo Mills, Mark Monteverde, Julie Muyllaert, John Newcom, Agi Ottlyk, Steve Oulman, Marc Robertson, Paul and Emily Sisson, Kristen Smith, Susan Stone, Lawrence Therriault, Laurie Ulmer, Fred Wert, Lynette Westendorf, Ken Westman, Steve Wilson and Larry Zimmerlund.

• Businesses and organizations Aero Methow Rescue, The Cove, Methow Salmon Recovery Foundation, Methow Recycles, Methow Valley Sport Trails Association, Methow Conservancy, Okanogan County Fire District 6, Shafer Museum, Sullivan Cemetery Association, Winthrop Petanque Court Volunteers, Winthrop Auditorium Association, Winthrop Kiwanis, Winthrop Ice and Sports Rink Association, Winthrop Library Board and Winthrop Chamber of Commerce.